Recurring Decimals…..

Everything here is irrelevant

Weekend Cocktail Blogging: Saturday Quickie…

with 6 comments

A fine, crisp and sunny weekend evening in San Diego inspires this Hendrick’s Gin-based cocktail. Let’s call it…ummm….. say Carte Blanche (not my own idea – flicked the name off the box the Hendrick’s came in)
  • 3 parts Hendrick’s Gin
  • 1.5 part lime juice
  • 1 part sugar syrup/teaspoon of sugar.
  • Few dashes of Paychaud’s Bitters

Shake all ingredients except the bitters with ice and strain into a pre-chilled martini glass. Add a few dashes of the bitter on top. Enjoy with mozzarella-rolled prosciutto with basil, and salami with Parmesan.

[Or, just drink a Shiraz-Cabernet-Viognier blend, as the better -half was doing]

Written by BongoP'o'ndit

April 10, 2010 at 11:01 pm

Posted in Food, Martinis, Personal

Tagged with , ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I will have to try this out. I’ve been drinking a lot of gin-and-tonic lately (aside from the compulsory martinis after work) but this looks like quite refreshing. And reason you suggest Hendrick’s for this one? I currently only have Bombay Sapphire.

    Anirban

    April 10, 2010 at 11:32 pm

  2. @anirban: Hendrick’s is richer in herbal flavors, in fact, a bit too strong for a Martini, IMO.

    For this drink particularly, I think it has a refreshing taste that compliments the lime juice and sugar. I suggest that you try Hendrick’s for your G-n-T as well.

    Sapphire can’t be beat for Martinis or for that matter, in combination with tonic.

    PS: Perhaps I can induce you to make a SD detour during EB for Hendrick’s-based cocktails ?๐Ÿ™‚

    BongoP'o'ndit

    April 11, 2010 at 12:03 am

  3. Thanks. That is very insightful and I am going to buy a bottle of Hendrick’s today. I find that I drink a lot of gin-based drinks during the summer.

    I would love to go down to SD during EB, but I’ll have to see if I can free up my schedule for half a day. Regardless, I’ll be in SD for a week later in the year attending Society for Neuroscience. Do let me know when you’re in DC: the Mayflower boasts ~100 martinis on their menu.๐Ÿ™‚

    Anirban

    April 11, 2010 at 8:41 am

  4. @Anirban: If you do buy Hendrick’s – try a concoction with crushed cucumbers. Extremely refreshing on summer afternoons.

    BongoP'o'ndit

    April 11, 2010 at 12:08 pm

  5. This is interesting stuff. I can’t believe I have never heard of or tried Bitters. Just Wikied the stuff and found loads of cool info on it. Will have to add to the bar pretty soon here๐Ÿ™‚

    Thanks for the wonderful blog๐Ÿ™‚

    Praveen

    April 12, 2010 at 2:34 pm

  6. @Praveen: Yep – bitters can be a wonderful ingredient in cocktails if used well. You can check out some other drinks I like with bitters: here

    BongoP'o'ndit

    April 12, 2010 at 9:12 pm


Leave a Reply

