Recurring Decimals…..

Everything here is irrelevant

Why I prefer my Martini stirred..

with 3 comments

…not shaken; because vigorous shaking introduces…err… stuff into the solution which could actually cure me. And I don’t want to be cured of my alcohol addiction.

Essentially, that is what this woo-ridden atricle by Dana Ullman in HuffPo explaining Homeopathy is trying to claim (via). It’s filled with gems like:

Further, the micro-bubbles and the nano-bubbles that are caused by the shaking may burst and thereby produce microenvironments of higher temperature and pressure.

Of course, what he is saying has to be true – after all he talks of nano-doses and nano-pharmacology and micro-environments (why didn’t he go to pico and femto ? Those sound even sexier and is actually more accurate to describe homeopathic dosage levels) and Quantum Medicine (I gotta take myself an online degree in that one)!

Sadly however, Ullman missed the clincher: James Bond drank his martini shaken and the shaking introduced super-bubbles into his drink and that’s how he managed to sleep with all the random women. As stated, I drink my martini stirred, and ergo no liaisons with alluring women.

After all, that makes as much sense as the rest of the so-called evidence.

Seriously  folks, there is very little in the way of scientific/medical evidence that homeopathy works. And before people who have been ‘cured’ by homeopathy start flaming me, let me state that I come from a family where ‘allopathy’ was always a last resort. And I too have been purportedly cured of a skin infection with homeopathy. However, at that time, my diet also changed and my mom started making me eat a lot of neem and turmeric etc. I’d think that these latter items which have actual ingredients and not some infinitesimally diluted and vigorously shaken nano/pico drop of water might have done the curing.

Unfortunately, most of the support for homeopathy seems to stem from such anecdotal evidence and not from rigorous double-blind studies that would convince skeptics (alas, some people – check the comments on HuffPo – have even come to regard double blind studies as a big-pharma conspiracy).

I have no problem if people want to indulge in homeopathy to waste time and money, but it becomes dangerous when people ignore good medical advice thinking they are getting a cure, or when homeopathy falsely advertises cure and/or prevention (e.g this earlier bad advice on H1N1 prevention by homeopathy which was being touted by a celebrity on Twitter).

So call it magic, call it a miracle, but explaining homeopathy with some technical mumbo-jumbo doesn’t make any sense.

(also read Dictatorji’s earlier post on homeopathy and astrology and the comments therein )

Written by BongoP'o'ndit

December 15, 2009 at 11:51 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. By no stretch of imagination, I can be described as “open to miracles and other hocus focus”. As an allopathic doctor, I can’t find any rational explanation or logic to those small white pills. Yet, I have memory of relief from a shoulder pain, about 25 years ago, that was not going away after days of anti-inflammatory drugs and that went away an hour after my uncle gave me those white pills. I had gone to their home to check my aunt’s blood pressure and when my uncle had insisted that I take those pills, I was like, “Ok, lets do it for not hurting his feelings”. It was very illogical. Worse, afterwards, he didn’t even remember what he had given me, since for him there was no “shoulder pain medicine” but it all depended upon how I had explained my symptoms in that precise moment. Probably it was just coincidence!

    Sunil Deepak

    December 16, 2009 at 8:52 am

  2. Quantum Medicine….???!!!!!

    Bornalibran

    December 24, 2009 at 12:35 pm

  3. Join the FRIENDS OF CHHATTISGARH blogging
    http://www.friendsofchhattisgarh.com

    Friends

    May 21, 2010 at 1:21 am


Leave a Reply

