Recurring Decimals…..

Everything here is irrelevant

Quick Oscar-nite musings

with 7 comments

A big pat on the back of those who actually stayed awake to watch the entire Oscar’s night live; I had recorded it and even with the benefit of fast-forwarding through really boring bits and the commercial breaks, I wish I could even say ‘meh’ !

This was undoubtedly one of the most uninspiring, insipid and boring Oscar ceremonies I have witnessed. Allright, so Hugh Jackman can sing, he can dance, he can self-reference during his song and dance routines, and yeah, yeah…he is the sexiest man alive, or something. But he did not bring anything extra as a host – the best one could say is that he was not as irritating as Ellen Degeneress two years ago. But that’s not really saying much.

And, that was the best choreography they could come up with for O saaya and Jai Ho: A bunch of dancers in ethnically confusing pink dresses !? Jai Ho was slightly better, but only just. they should have left it to the professionals in Mumbai ?

The moments barely enjoyable included bits of the opening routine, Tina Fey and Steve Martin’s banter, and Jerry Lewis’ acceptance. Of course,  Jai Ho to ARR and Gulzar for winning Oscars.

Finally, Kate Winslet: For fugs sake – stop the crying already and show some dignity. Meryl Streep was sitting not very far – she has won the award three times and nominated a zillion times, learn something from her.

Written by BongoP'o'ndit

February 23, 2009 at 8:52 pm

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. arre thheek hai… cut Kate some slack… winning it for the first time after being nominated 5 times before, perhaps it means a bit more to her than it does to Meryl Streep? I understand that it doesn’t look all that dignified, but she’ll have many more occassions to make dignified oscar speeches in coming years.

    Rahul

    February 23, 2009 at 11:11 pm

  2. I watched the ceremony Live. It was on at a good time here, and on a holiday (Monday). Got 18 out of my 24 guesses right.

    Loved Tina Fey and Steve Martin. And yes, Ben Stiller doing a Joaquin Phoenix was priceless. You should see Phoenix’s original appearance on Letterman and then watch Stiller’s imitation. Comedy Gold!

    Kate Winslet.. argh.. makes me clench my teeth in agony. Saying “suck it up” to Meryl Streep takes some nerve though, even as attempted humour that fell predictably flat.

    Overlord

    February 24, 2009 at 12:47 am

  3. I thought Milk screenwriter Dustin Lance Black’s speech
    was quite all right, too.

    But overall, a big yawn! I have seen only six — milk, rachel getting married, man on wire, waltz with bashir and frozen river, dark knight — among all the nominations, but even after watching the entire show, I am not looking forward to catching any of the other movies on DVD.

    Well, maybe The Visitor.

    dipanjan

    February 24, 2009 at 8:09 pm

  4. @rahul: true, I guess I was in a very snarky mood when I wrote this. at least, she wasn’t like Halle Berry

    @Overlord: I had forgotten the Joaquin Phoenix stunt ! Now I ‘understand’ the joke🙂

    @dipanjan: true – that was one of the better acceptance speeches.

    BongoP'o'ndit

    February 24, 2009 at 10:20 pm

  5. This is weird.. I seem to have forgotten how to use WordPress. Any idea why my “name” is not linked to my blog in these comments?

    Overlord

    February 24, 2009 at 10:39 pm

  6. Oh well.. for some reason, now it is. Sorry to have bothered you.

    Overlord

    February 24, 2009 at 10:39 pm

  7. @Overlord: no worries. I read your last comment first.

    BongoP'o'ndit

    February 24, 2009 at 10:41 pm


Leave a Reply

