Recurring Decimals…..

Everything here is irrelevant

Thoughts on Blogging (the lack of)

with 5 comments

This is one of those needless, rambling posts that are totally unnecessary but yet establishes your credentials as a true blogger.

It is a truth universally (okay I exaggerate, more like by a total number of people who can be counted by fingers) known that I have never been a prolific blogger. Even keeping up an old resolution of a post-per-day has been tough.

Still, seems to me that rate of blogging has really gone down after moving to Australia. One factor has been the lack of time. My daily commute has gone up from half an hour to two hours. While this provides more time to read books, check out new music and keep updated on podcasts, sadly it eats quite a bit into writing time (or so I would like to think, the lazy-ass I am in general). Additionally, time spent traveling around and exploring this country or for social gatherings has gone up, with very few weekends (or weeknight evenings) spent idle at home. Unfortunately, the social parties aren’t terribly exciting enough to blog about but I do try to describe or at least put up pictures of the weekend nature excursions.

However, perhaps a more important reason for the dip has been the lack of clear topics to opine on. I started blogging during the hectic days when I was churning out my thesis chapters. I required a release valve from the daily drudge of technical minutiae, and blogging seemed to be a good idea. I held (still do) opinions on current affairs, pop-culture, movies, music, books etc and felt that the world needed to hear them. But in terms of books or movies, I have since found that I have little patience, or the ability, for writing full-blown reviews. Not to mention the fact that there are many exceptional talents in this department out there. If there is something I particularly like, or it is something old and not covered extensively, I put forth a recommendation. Additionally, with the people who share similar tastes in literature, movies and music, a lot of discussion also goes on off-blog.

On current affairs, I usually resist the urge of being simply an echo-chamber and linking to a story that’s done the rounds. Unless I have something new to add, or the news is compelling enough that I must let my opinion – even if a general agreement – be known, I resist from hitting the publish button. With so many people expressing the same idea, I cannot see the point of adding to the noise. The only exception is cricket, where I have quite strong feelings and the need to rant πŸ™‚

Which brings me to a related thought. I get a feeling that after the heady growth over the last 2-3 years, the blogosphere – at least in terms of quality if not quantity – has reached a state of equilibrium. The major bloggers have been identified and in most cases their posts or opinions are quite predictable. Take the case of Al Gore winning the Nobel prize for example. As soon as I heard the news (on TV) I knew what the reaction would be from various quarters – heavy bashing from the politically right-leaning bloggers and strong support with bashing of the right-wing bashing from the left – and I was not far off. There is a definite sense of ennui when I open my bloglines.

This is not to say there is nothing refreshing out there. I still rely on bloggers more than the ‘mainstream’ for movie and book reviews/recommendations. Then there are masters of satire and wit who continue to amuse. And the truly erudite continue to challenge our intellect and induce introspection through perceptive commentary. Finally, there are the more personal bloggers, whose matching quirky tastes we love to cultivate πŸ˜‰ .

But to end this pointless rambling – if not anything, to put the reader out of misery – on a rather abrupt note, just announcing that the world will be relieved of my non-blogging for the next few days. Off to Heron, an island on the southern tip of the Great Barrier Reef – snorkeling, swimming, lazing on the beach with books and with any luck, watching sea-turtles mate etc. should ensue.

Have a great weekend.

Written by BongoP'o'ndit

October 25, 2007 at 1:44 am

Posted in Blog, Personal

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I admit that blogging takes (and should) a backseat when there is much exciting stuff happening in the real life. After all, it is hard work keeping up a blog on regular basis. Ditto about the equilibrium of the blogosphere. My suggestion would be to take a break and write only on topics you feel strongly about. I’m sure you read plenty of WTF! stuff and just want to vent your opinions. Go ahead and share your opinions, for your sake!

    Patrix

    October 25, 2007 at 10:22 am

  2. After you’re back from the trip, you’d have another topic to post on. Which means, next post wouldn’t be on blogging, or the lack of it.

    Kalyan Banerjee

    October 25, 2007 at 10:37 am

  3. Dude, I would like to give advice that one wise man gave me when I was going through a low as far as blogging was concerned:

    “Blog whenever you feel like….we will know of your new posts through feeds anyway :)”

    Born a Libran

    October 25, 2007 at 12:45 pm

  4. […] Thoughts on Blogging (the lack of) Off to Heron, an island on the southern tip of the Great Barrier Reef – snorkeling, swimming, lazing on the beach with books and with any luck… […]

  5. “Finally, there are the more personal bloggers, whose matching quirky tastes we love to cultivate “
    Thank goodness for that. πŸ˜‰

    Sakshi

    October 30, 2007 at 12:22 am


Leave a Reply

