Recurring Decimals…..

Everything here is irrelevant

FCB: In which I feel humbled….

with 3 comments

….and then aggrieved.

Last evening, a bunch of us were participating in the (now ritualistic) weekly Trivia-nite at a local bar (with additional inducements of $7 T-Bone steak and chips) – which is really just an excuse to drink beer, not that the trivia portion isn’t exciting or challenging as well, but I digress – and there was a question on cocktails. The question was which cocktail contains ‘Tia Maria, Vodka and Coke’. And yes, I am ashamed to say I had no idea initially (in my defense, I haven’t got to the part of coffee-based desert drinks on my cocktail journeys yet).

Someone suggested Black Russian, which I thought was probable, but I was fixated on the fact that in my book, Black Russian contains Kahlua and Vodka and no coke (derived as it is from White Russian minus the cream, which I knew about as The Dude was always drinking one). I should have been flexible in my thought process and remembered that Tia Maria is a coffee-based liqueur much like Kahlua. Eventually, we crossed out Black Russian and put in something else. And of course lost a point. Did not matter in the long run, but in quizzes, these near missed hurt. And my image within the team as a cocktail expert has taken a hit. 😛

Anyway, here the recipes for Black or White Russians.

Black Russian

2 parts Vodka + 1 part Kahlua, poured over ice in an highball glass.

White Russian

2 parts Vodka + 1 part Kahlua, poured over ice in a highball glass and then mix in milk/cream.

(Note: It is usually better to pour the Vodka first and then the Kahlua and cream, otherwise the Vodka tends to float on top).

Written by BongoP'o'ndit

July 6, 2007 at 2:59 am

Posted in Martinis, Trivia

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Done and I have also signed the CTBT.

    dipanjan

    July 7, 2007 at 4:40 pm

  2. […] team) erupting in joy after winning the Thursday Trivia-nite (briefly mentioned here) – and not only won, but having cracked the additional Jackpot question, thereby pocketing a cool […]

  3. […] I’d post a quick one over a brief break in drinking – its the the White Russian, which I have mentioned before but discovered a way to make it aesthetically more pleasing to look at (and possibly […]


Leave a Reply

