Recurring Decimals…..

Everything here is irrelevant

FCB: The cocktails and I – Random Eight.

with 8 comments

In spite of the CTBT proclamation, Patrix tagged me with the random facts meme. Now, it is truly not quite possible to do this tag accurately since for the eight facts to be random, I should ideally make a list of all facts about me, number them and then use a random number generator to choose the eight. Pedantry aside, and considering that Sakshi decided to go her own way in modifying the tag, I am sure Pat won’t mind if I take liberties with the tag (and his moniker!). So here goes in the spirit of killing two birds with a stone, eight somewhat random facts about me – but related to alcohol.

(new cocktail recipe at the end)

1. I have been totally pissed out drunk on numerous occasions; but usually I remember all that happens and the embarrassing stuff I say and do in that phase. Only once (2005-2006 New Years Party) was I so drunk that I have little or no recollection of events. The person in the know tells me that I eventually went to sleep clutching to my bosom – a trash-can (with a paper bag inside) – for the fear of puking in the night. It was a weird feeling the next day, not being
able to remember. And yes, I have puked on several occasions after too much drinking – not particularly proud moments.

2. I respect people who are teetotalers, if it is simply a life-style choice; but it pisses me off when someone gets preachy and condescending about their choice or when they try to explain that they don’t drink because it is ‘addictive’. Alcohol is not addictive – learn your limits.

3. The Martini is my usual pre-dinner cocktail of choice, but lately I have fallen in love with the Negroni‘s bitter appetite-inducing taste. My other favorite alcohols can range from beer to margaritas to a fine wine or whiskey – depends totally on the mood or the food I am consuming.

4. I tend to be quite loquacious after my first cocktail, glass of wine or (three bottles of) beers; otherwise I am quite a reserved person, especially if in company of people I don’t know well enough. But get me to drink something, I’ll be the chummiest person in the room.

And yeah, I can’t do the macho thing of ‘holding my drink’ – I feel tipsy quite readily and actually think that is a good thing. Keeps me from consuming too much alcohol.

5. My first ever alcoholic drink was when I was only 9 ! It was a small sip of champagne from my dad’s glass – this was at a celebration party for India winning the Benson and Hedges Cup ’85 (we were abroad then). I felt proud of my achievement for many years and kept boasting to my friends till I realized how stupid it sounded.

6. I started drinking very late – perhaps three or four occasions during college. Regular drinking started only after arriving in the US and the fascination with cocktails only in the last two years or so. I had some sort of an idealistic notion of not spending my pocket money (ie my dad’s hard earned paise) on alcohol. The occasions in college were mostly off others and once on my scholarship award money !

7. Apart from sipping a well-made cocktail, what provides great satisfaction to me is serving up a good cocktail for others . The drinks I love to mix for others include my own versions of vodka-cointreau-lime-and-other-liqueur (e.g Cosmo) cocktails, margaritas and caipirinhas; I can also make a mean Sangria for parties.

8. What I am sipping right now: a mojito based concoction with vodka replacing the rum, and cointreau to add some sweetness. How about calling it the Comrade ?

What you need:

  • Vodka 3 part (or more depending on how strong you want it)
  • Cointreau 1 part
  • Lime/Lemon juice (2tbp)
  • Brown Sugar (1tsp)
  • Mint leaves (fresher the better)
  • Soda/Tonic Water

Take a few sprigs of mint leaves, the brown sugar and the lemon-lime juice and muddle them in a highball glass. More you can bruise the mint leaves, more flavorful your drink will be. Add ice cubes to the top, fill in with Vodka and Cointreau (the latter is to adjust the sweetness and should be about a third of the portion of Vodka). Stir a bit. Top off with soda or tonic water if you want. For garnish, take a sprig of mint on the palm of your hands, slap it with the other palm and drop into the drink. Place a straw, sip and enjoy – its highly refreshing! An interesting variation to this drink is to use either basil leaves in place of or in combination with mint.

I am supposed to tag eight others; but as usual, those who I can force into responding to a tag have mostly been tagged already; so I randomly choose Curiouscat and Dipanjan as the next victims !

Written by BongoP'o'ndit

June 29, 2007 at 6:33 am

Posted in Martinis, Personal

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh, the cocktail looks similar to the Mint Juleps. I will give it a try once I become a real job holder 😀

    I have you beat at early drinking – I sipped my dad’s left over beer when I was 5. Got a sound thrashing from my Mom for drinking – get this – stale beer 😀 I still ask her if her response would have been different if I had the fresh beer.

    Sakshi

    June 29, 2007 at 8:40 am

  2. Nice post. Try Bronzé – a spanish cocktail. 60 ml vodka, dash of orange juice and finsihed with a flambé using 20 ml cointreau. Smooth and potent. second best thing after a dry martini.

    Cinamon

    June 29, 2007 at 10:44 am

  3. @Sakshi: Yeah Julep/Mojitos etc are similar drinks. Btw, do try it with fresh basil and a white rum as well.

    @Cinamon: Thanks for the recipe – sounds delicious and I will try it tonite.

    BongoP'o'ndit

    June 29, 2007 at 6:51 pm

  4. @BongoP’o’ndit: By doing this meme, you have done a great disservice to the cause of Developing Blogs and CTBT. You are openly defying the diktats of NAM (Non A-lister Movement) and inviting sanctions. We’re keeping a close watch on you from this moment onwards.

    PS: The recipe sounds good. Will try it sometime. 🙂

    Vivek Kumar

    July 1, 2007 at 12:55 pm

  5. Have been reading your blog for sometime now – very heartfelt – keep writing.

    Also, a very random idea — I have been religiously wasting my time these days — in things as inconsequential like YouTube, et al — and I saw this video today !

    At some point, could you write about what you thought of it — just a request. Be well.

    umm

    July 3, 2007 at 12:13 am

  6. I recently got hold of a couple of DVDs with highlights of all Benson&Hedges finals from 80s and 90s. Great fun — good old days when 220s were challenging and 190s defensible.

    And doesn’t the tagging protocol require leaving a comment at the target blog? Until that happens, I will keep pretending that I have not read this post.

    dipanjan

    July 4, 2007 at 8:22 pm

  7. @dipanjan: Last week I was watched 20/20s live for the first time – scores were around 200 and 170 – in 20 overs (and overtaken in the second game). If I remember India scored something like 173 to win that Benson and Hedges. And they took their time in doing so !

    Anyway, it was delayed by laziness, but now you have been ‘officially’ tagged 🙂

    BongoP'o'ndit

    July 4, 2007 at 9:21 pm

  8. I just hope you did not try that cocktail .. i missed out a major ingredient. As i was making it today i realised i had forgotten to tell you 30 ml blue curacao. I know that was bad f*** up. So sorry :).

    Cinamon

    July 7, 2007 at 1:56 pm


Leave a Reply

