Recurring Decimals…..

Everything here is irrelevant

Friday Cocktail Blogging: Back with a Bundy

with 5 comments

I have complained earlier about the high cost of liquor in Australia, which is party due to high duties. But, if as the wise man said, death and taxes are the two certainties of life, then surely alcohol is its lubricant. Therefore undaunted, we shall continue with our quest of featuring refreshing alcohols for your weekend pleasure with the return of Friday Cocktail Blogging.

I am usually not a big fan of rum (although I have enjoyed the Brazilian rum, cachaca) as I find it coarse and hard on my taste buds. But since I am in Brisbane, the capital of Queensland, home of the famous Bundaberg Rum (Bundy to locals) and I happened to like its smooth flavor (not to mention I got it cheap at the duty-free), a few drinks based on this rum will be featured today and the coming weeks.

Today’s cocktail is basically a simple variation of generic Highball/Moscow Mule type drinks. You need:

  • 3 parts Tonic Water
  • 1 part Bundaberg Rum
  • Dash of Angostura Bitters
  • Juice of half a lime
  • Bit of Sugar Syrup (use finely granulated sugar if you don’t have the syrup handy)

As usual, make sure you are using fresh lime and good quality ice. In a highball glass, add ice to the top and then the rum, lime juice and sugar syrup. Stir a bit (especially if you are using sugar – stir enough to dissolve it). Top off with the tonic water and add a dash of the bitters. Garnish with a slice of lime.

Once again, nominations are welcome for naming the drink. My choice is (unimaginatively) the Brisbane Zinger.

I happened to use Schweppes Indian Tonic water (so called because it contains a small amount of quinine and was made popular via the old British Raj habit of using quinine with their drink to ward off malaria) for this – which is supposedly bitter by itself – but I needed the added bitterness of Angostura. If you are using regular soda water – remember to compensate with sugar and bitters. You can use lemon in place of lime as well. Btw, if you make a virgin drink without the rum, basically it will be a Bitter Lemon.

As the locals would say, ‘no wrorries, mate – ‘cheers’. Enjoy the weekend

Written by BongoP'o'ndit

June 15, 2007 at 4:36 am

Posted in Martinis

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tip: Next time use honey instead of sugar syrup when making drinks involving bitters…it tastes fantastic (i.e., I think so..)

    curiouscat

    June 15, 2007 at 6:36 am

  2. I love Bundy. A friend had gifted it to me since I like rum but this one is really smooth 🙂

    Sakshi

    June 15, 2007 at 8:19 am

  3. To give it a little twist, use a lemongrass stem to stir it.

    Nitin

    June 15, 2007 at 8:46 am

  4. Is the tonic actually different than the Schweppes one purchases in the US, or does it just have a catchier name?

    Brian

    June 15, 2007 at 10:37 am

  5. @curiouscat: interesting – I have noticed a number of cocktail recipes with honey in them but have wondered what the viscosity of honey would do the mixing of the drinks. Will have to try. Thanks for the tip

    @Sakshi: Bundy is certainly smooth. I figure I should consume enough of it while here since they are not easily available in the states. A trip to the distillery is also in the works.

    @Nitin: Thanks – I have used lemongrass in a Bloody Mary prep – will be interesting to find out how it tastes with the rum.

    @Brian: I assume its the same tonic water (ie slightly soda water with quinine) made by several manufacturers, but I can see how calling it Indian Tonic Water in US might cause some problems.

    BongoP'o'ndit

    June 15, 2007 at 10:40 pm


Leave a Reply

