Recurring Decimals…..

Everything here is irrelevant

World Cup Cricket – finally the finals…..

with 12 comments

After a protracted month and a half of mostly insipid matches, empty stadiums, a murdered coach, retirement of several prominent players and coaches, the World Cup of cricket is ready for the finals.

South Africa kept up their form of choking when it matters (how else do you explain the abject top order collapse on a not too batting unfriendly pitch), while the Australian juggernaut rolled on. Can Sri Lanka, who seems to be peaking at the right time take on the Aussie might ?

I am rooting for the Aussies – simply because that’s the only way Sri Lanka has a sniff of a chance.

UPDATE: Now South Africa’s coach makes a very lame ass excuse, partly blaming the defeat on, you guessed it, the schedule.

"Not looking for excuses but the length of the tournament and the time between games didn’t allow us to get momentum.

"After the game against England we were ready to play two days later."

Errr……it was not as if they sprung the schedule at the last moment. The World Cup was obviously too long, with even the administrators admitting it, but its really childish to blame a top-order collapse on the schedule. Besides, something tells me if South Africa had to play the semis ‘two days later’, and lost, they would be blaming the schedule again for the matches being too close to each other !

Written by BongoP'o'ndit

April 26, 2007 at 7:30 am

Posted in Cricket

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You stay away from the Aussies!!
    I need to win another “gloating rights” ..

    But if they play like they have been theis WC, the lankans don’t stand a chance!

    Sakshi

    April 26, 2007 at 8:53 am

  2. @Sakshi: On form, the Aussies certainly look deserving ..but on a given day – an upset could happen.

    BongoP'o'ndit

    April 26, 2007 at 9:05 am

  3. I see that you have finally come around to my view.. though for different reasons (giving SL a chance) πŸ˜‰

    Vivek Kumar

    April 26, 2007 at 9:40 am

  4. @Bongo -I know, anything can happen. In fact I promised FSM, an ungodly amount of indulgence in good beer while watching the WC so as the ’96 repeat does not occur.
    That being said, I stand by my Aussies. They deserve the win for an unsurpassed performance- once again..

    Sakshi

    April 26, 2007 at 9:50 am

  5. @Vivek: Well – Well, as usual the horse I was backing (NZ) failed to deliver 😦

    @Sakshi: Hoping for an exciting match at least. Careful with the beer πŸ˜‰

    BongoP'o'ndit

    April 26, 2007 at 10:14 am

  6. @Sakshi: Hmm.. “FSM” — “ungodly”.. πŸ™‚ Intentional? Funny anyway! πŸ™‚

    Vivek Kumar

    April 26, 2007 at 11:04 am

  7. @BongoP’o’ndit: Technorati tells me that you have updated the blogroll and corrected the URL for my blog. Thanks! It was about time πŸ™‚

    Vivek Kumar

    April 26, 2007 at 11:08 am

  8. @Vivek – Thank you. A fellow pastafarian’s blog allows you to make such play with words..

    @Bongo- I want a repeat of the RSA match.. pulverize the opposition, I say!! I am in a blood thirsty mood..
    And I forgot beer was banned on this blog, so I am offering FSM pacification via Maritinis.. Will that get you to cheer my Aussies? πŸ™‚

    Sakshi

    April 26, 2007 at 12:58 pm

  9. @Sakshi: Ungodly, irreligious comments – bring ’em on. More the merrier – especially humorous stuff like above.

    Glad to know that you are coming over to the CFSM’s Maritini-ite sect πŸ™‚ . But you actually want me to cheer for the Lankans, right ? (‘coz whoever I support usually loses).

    Btw, what would be the fun if they pulverize the opponent – don’t you want some excitement, some nail biting stuff, the edge of the seat-excitement ? πŸ˜‰

    But as Confused was telling me earlier, the Aussies do deserve the prize for their utterly dominant form.

    BongoP'o'ndit

    April 26, 2007 at 3:50 pm

  10. @Vivek: Sorry about the tardiness – I have been meaning to update my whole Blogroll for a while (was supposed to add a few) – but immense procrastination ensues.

    BongoP'o'ndit

    April 26, 2007 at 3:52 pm

  11. Bongo – Forget my comment on loyalty and all that crap in the new post, cheer SL, heartily. That way I can at least have someone to point and laugh at πŸ™‚

    And I would like them to proclaim their dominance by smashing their opponents to smitherns.. now I am going into hiding from the solo Lankan in the building πŸ™‚

    And I always was in the Martini sect, just being a poor grad student makes me stick to my beer πŸ˜›

    Sakshi

    April 26, 2007 at 4:56 pm

  12. @Sakshi: Make up our mind girl – should I cheer fo SL or Aus ?!

    Anyway, I will reiterate my hope for a close finish – its been a dull WC so far and a good final is what it needs. Besides, the last really exciting WC finals was way back in ’87 (also the last time I supported the Oz in WC – so I guess my luck always ain’t so bad).

    BongoP'o'ndit

    April 26, 2007 at 5:57 pm


Leave a Reply

