Recurring Decimals…..

Everything here is irrelevant

Now use your blog to apply for a job !

with 7 comments

Well known ScienceBlog-er (and certainly one of the most prolific), Bora Zivkovic or Coturnix, did. He wrote a post expressing interest for the job of Online Community Manager at the PLoS ONE – and recived a comment from their Managing Editor ! Bora writes:

A few days ago, PLoS ONE posted a few job ads, including this one. A friend of mine saw it and thought the job-description was pretty much a Bora-description (another friend wrote in an e-mail that all it is missing is a clause "must be a Red-State Serbian Jewish atheist liberal PhD student"), so he sent me the link.

Some people like to keep secrets, but I like to air my thoughts in public (why have a blog otherwise?) so I posted my thoughts about it late on Friday night and decided to sleep on it, think about it over the weekend, consult with my wife, my kids, my brother, my mother and a few good (blogging) friends, then formally apply on Monday (yesterday).

Next morning, I woke up to a comment by the Managing Editor of PLoS ONE asking if my blog-post should be considered as a formal job application. My comment in response was a Yes.

All I can say is more power to blogs !!

I have been a lurker at his blog for over a year now and really, he is a great candidate for the job. Apart from blogging on the aptly titled ‘A Blog Around the Clock‘, Bora’s tireless effort (with others) has led to a Science Blogging Anthology book and the first Science Blogging Conference held earlier this year (in my back-yard no less, but which I was sadly forced to miss due to work circumstances).

Written by BongoP'o'ndit

April 25, 2007 at 7:58 am

Posted in Blog, Trivia

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You have to make it next time – the second conference is on January 19th, 2008.

    coturnix

    April 25, 2007 at 8:14 am

  2. I am a regular at his blog to given my interest in Circadian Rhythms. I follow his blog to keep me informed with the goings on in the field.
    Nice to see good things come out of blogging šŸ™‚

    Sakshi

    April 25, 2007 at 8:34 am

  3. @coturnix: Will try my best – but chances are, I wont be in the area by then. Good luck with the job !

    @Sakshi: Yeah – also nice to see blogs becoming an important tool for scientists to keep in touch with their interests !

    BongoP'o'ndit

    April 25, 2007 at 6:11 pm

  4. @Bongo – You moving?? Where??
    Wowie..

    Sakshi

    April 26, 2007 at 8:54 am

  5. @Sakshi: All will be revealed soon – stay tuned !

    BongoP'o'ndit

    April 26, 2007 at 9:06 am

  6. ok……..make your move announcement with big fanfare. So….since I’ve waited about 2 minutes…..where are you moving?

    Sunil

    April 26, 2007 at 4:25 pm

  7. @Sunil: Check out the latest post !

    BongoP'o'ndit

    April 26, 2007 at 4:48 pm


Leave a Reply

