Recurring Decimals…..

Everything here is irrelevant

Kissa Kissing Ka

with 13 comments

The Richard Gere-Shilpa Shetty incident….as covered by Jon Stewart with Asif Mandvi. (Sorry – can’t embed Comedy Central videos in WordPress, you have to click the link. The video is also available on the VodPod widget on the right).

Now I strongly oppose the idiotic protests, burning of effigies and moronic court cases; but don’t you think that a bit horny old Gere was pushing it a bit here?See and decide for yourself.

Video here.

Written by BongoP'o'ndit

April 18, 2007 at 9:09 pm

Posted in Fun, India, LOL, Rants

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i think Sunny Deol has benefited from a hair transplant.

    About the kissing thing, as long as Shetty doesn’t object, who are we to go nuts over it?

    Confused

    April 18, 2007 at 9:45 pm

  2. The Daily Show clip is hilarious 😀

    Vivek Kumar

    April 19, 2007 at 2:35 am

  3. @ Confused: LoL @ Sunny Deol. Btw, I dont object to the kissing or whatever the two adult individuals are doing (and as I said – I find the whole brouhaha incredibly inane) – but I thought Gere was kind of pushing it there…..even Jon Stewart seemed to think so !

    @Vivek: yeah – I liked the call center bit !

    BongoP'o'ndit

    April 19, 2007 at 7:29 am

  4. Have you read the rediff column where Shilpa refused to apologize – the comment section would make your head explode!
    This is absurd. I mean, if he did go overboard – she did look uncomfortable/surprised (with her one can never tell.. same expression always :P), then he apologised, she accepted. End of story. Why make such a big deal of a kiss?? Oh forgot, the same crowd also made a big deal of a kiss in Dhoom 2.. so I guess, any kind of kissing is forbidden.

    Sakshi

    April 19, 2007 at 9:25 am

  5. Gere definitely seemed drunk or over-indulgent but hey, celebrities do far worse things and as Confused Mian said, Shilpa ko koi problem nahi toh Shiv Sena ke j@#$ kyon brown ho rahe hai (delhi-ites might understand the censored part)

    And Sakshi, I quit reading Rediff comments coz I don’t to see a sub-zero IQ side of my dear Indians.

    Patrix

    April 19, 2007 at 12:26 pm

  6. @Sakshi: Yeah – I don’t understand the fuss either. The funny thing is I was reading somewhere a dude saying ‘this obscenity and nudity cannot be tolerated’ – while the obscenity could be argued as subjective, where the F$%K does nudity enter in this ?

    And, please dont remind me of Dhoom2 – I have ranted enough about it – but still can’t believe the Bacchan’s forced the director to cut the scene !!!! Talk about prudishness.

    @Patrix: I think I can guess – but you needn’t have censored – this ain’t a ‘family blog’…..

    BongoP'o'ndit

    April 19, 2007 at 3:26 pm

  7. @Patrix- I read the comments and I laugh my ass off. There is tragic humor in those absurd arguments. I wish we had Pythonesque group in India, so much to make fun of 🙂
    @Bongo- You censored yourself while asking Patrix not to..hehehe..
    Is it because you were talking to me? I refer you to my blog and I rest my case 🙂

    Sakshi

    April 19, 2007 at 4:42 pm

  8. @Sakshi: Actually no – for some reason I believe that f$%k is always more effective than ‘fuck’. And everyone knows what it means. Whereas in Pat’s case, quite a few people might be deprived of the full effect !

    Oh – and totally agree that India so much lacks the Pythonesque irreverent brand of humor. Even if there was a Jon Stewart type of satirist (probably would have been protested and effigy-burnt out of the airwaves).

    BongoP'o'ndit

    April 19, 2007 at 5:17 pm

  9. Delhi-ites do understand. :p

    Confused

    April 19, 2007 at 9:39 pm

  10. @Patrix: Yes, we do 🙂

    Vivek Kumar

    April 20, 2007 at 1:05 pm

  11. For a society who has been deeply damaged by colonialism can one think of a more offensive image of a white guy grabbing a daughter of India and forcing himself upon her? It is so symbolic. It is right in line with the image of the white colonist forcing himself upon a country and just taking whatever he wants.

    Richard Gere should pay the ultimate price for this.

    What bothers me however is those who would blame Shilpa Shetty for this.

    Too often women victims of rape in India are blamed for what happened like they wanted the rape to happen or it was their fault the rape happened even when the truth might be that the rapists brutalized them and they couldn’t stop the rape from happening.

    While of course Richard Gere didn’t actually rape Shilpa Shetty, I still see this whole “Blame the Woman Victim” dynamic in place. From what I saw from the video Shilpa Shetty did nothing to cause Richard Gere to act the way he did, and was in fact as shocked as everyone else was that he would act in such a disgraceful manner.

    We need to defend this daughter of India, not blame her for this white man’s assault upon her.

    Scott

    April 23, 2007 at 1:36 am

  12. […] 3: I have previously written about the absurdity of hype and protests surrounding the Richard Gere-Shilpa Shetty ‘kiss’ – now it even more ridiculous with a Jaipur court issuing warrant for the pair’s arrest […]

  13. […] post on much ado about kissing. And GreatBong’s hilarious take on another kissing […]


Leave a Reply

