Recurring Decimals…..

Everything here is irrelevant

Mausam ka jhaunka…..

with 8 comments

If there is anything more spiritually uplifting than listening to Gulzar’s poetry, it is listening to Gulzar recite it in his own rich baritone.

Recently, I have been playing this beautiful nazm recited by Gulzar on my iPod and iTunes endlessly. Do listen (click on the title below).

MAUSAM KA JHAUNKA….
Hosted by eSnips

Evokes a lovely imagery of lonely, rainy afternoons.

The nazm is from Rituparo Ghosh’s film ‘Raincoat‘ and plays between Shubha Mudgal’s rendition of the song ‘Piya Tora Kaisa Abhimaan‘. I found the first stanza on the net:

kisi mausam ka jhaunka tha
jo is deewar par latki hui tasveer tirchhi kar gaya hai
gaye sawaan mein ye deewarein yoon seeli nahin thi
na jaane is dafa kyun inmein seelan aa gayi hai
darare pad gaye hai aur seelan is tarha baithti hai
jaise khushk rukhsaroon pe geele aansu chalte hain

(if someone has the entire poem and can share, it will be much appreciated; the only one I found was in Hindi script, which I have bit of a trouble reading quickly)

A bit about Gulzar’s involvement (through an interview with Rituparno) :

Q. How did you get Gulzar Saab to come into the project?
A. I needed a poem for the narrative. I had a Bangla poem which I wanted him to translate. He quietly translated it and then asked me about the film. I told him the story and he offered to write a fresh poem… completely free of money! When I mentioned money he scolded me, ‘Tumi maar khabe?’

Then I wanted him to record it in his beautiful baritone. He did the scratch recording. Ajay was supposed to follow his voice. But Gulzar Bhai’s version was too good to be discarded.

(via)

Finally, a little (irrelevant) back-story: I really don’t care for Rituparno Ghosh and his films and care even less for Aishwarya. Therefore I never watched Raincoat when it was released. The big mistake there was that I missed the really great soundtrack from the film, which I happened to discover the other day through Sakshi’s blog. Wowed by Mathura Nagarpati, I was led to search for other tracks and found this gem of a audio-piece.

Written by BongoP'o'ndit

March 22, 2007 at 10:08 am

Posted in Films, India, Music, Personal, poetry

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You asked. I deliver.
    Kisi mausam ka jhonka tha
    Jo is deewar pe latki hui tasveer tirchee kar gaya hai
    Gaye saawan mein ye deewarein seemee nahi theen
    Na jaane is dafa kyon in mein seelan aa gayi hai
    dararein pad gayi hain aur seelan is tarah bahti hai jaise
    Khusjk ruksaaron pe geele aansoon chalte hain. ..

    Ye baarish gungunati thee
    isi chat ki munderon pe
    ye baarish gungunati thee isi chat ki munderon pe
    ye ghar ki khidkiyon ke kaanch par
    ungli se likh jaati thee sandese
    bilakhti rahti hai baithi hui
    ab band roshandanon ke peetche

    Dophaharein aisi lagti hain
    bina mohron ke khali khane rakhhein hain
    na koi khelne waala hai baazi
    aur na koi chaal chalta hai

    Na din hota hai na ab raat hoti hai
    sabhi kuch ruk gayaa hai
    wo kya mausam ka jhonka thaa
    jo is deewar pe latki hui tasveer tirchee kar gaya hai.

    Had I not watched the film, I would have missed an amazing soundtrack. If you want any of the numbers, holler!

    Sakshi

    March 22, 2007 at 2:00 pm

  2. Got the chills… in a goodway.. awesome! I hated raincoat but love the soundtrack, there is something etheral about it!

    perspectiveinc

    March 22, 2007 at 2:26 pm

  3. @Sakshi: Thank you very much (I was too lazy to do the transcribing myself) – will update in the post. Good catch on the soundtrack – and I have managed to find all of them online 🙂

    @perspectiveinc: I get the exact same chill – no matter how many times I hear it.

    BongoP'o'ndit

    March 22, 2007 at 5:42 pm

  4. Would you be kind enough to mail it to me?

    J.A.P.

    J. Alfred Prufrock

    March 24, 2007 at 3:59 am

  5. And a repeat request to Sakshi … please?

    J.A.P.

    J. Alfred Prufrock

    March 24, 2007 at 4:07 am

  6. @JAP –
    I am sorry, I did not check the comment sections again. Which tracks do you want? The one that I had or this one in along with the musical?
    And ps. I don’t know your mail id 🙂

    Sakshi

    March 26, 2007 at 6:07 pm

  7. Grate job u have done, i wanted all the lines of this poetry .

    Amit

    November 16, 2007 at 7:28 am

  8. when i didn’t watch the movie, didn’t like the soundtrack at first.

    after watching Raincoat, the songs made much more sense.. and therefore have been in my ipod ever since :p

    skye

    April 29, 2008 at 9:24 am


Leave a Reply

