Recurring Decimals…..

Everything here is irrelevant

The Cricket World Cup

with 7 comments

So another World Cup is here (the first game already played), it involves cricket and is taking place almost on my backyard, sans the trifling bodies of water in between, in the Caribbean: jerk chicken, beer, steel-drums, reggae and cricket – can you get a better combination than that ?.

And yet, I am strangely unexcited – I am not browsing dozens of sites devoted to cricket news, trying to pick up the minutiae of details and gossips, not engaging in flaming wars at rec.sport.cricket, Patrix’s entire post on how to watch the cup has left me cold.

Those who know me from my earlier days might very well be scandalized by this aloofness on my part. This is the guy who, during the last version of the tournament,Β  would wake up at 5am on a cold morning, pick up this dude and a box of Krispy Kreme donuts just to watch India play Kenya or Netherlands (or even two neutral countries like South Africa and Sri Lanka). This is the fanatic supporter who superstitiously remained locked in a single position over the whole night as Laxman and Dravid essayed their epic fourth day partnership at Eden Gardens. Sigh…

I am really not sure of the exact one, but there could be various reasons for this lack of enthusiasm. Firstly, back in graduate school, there used to be this motley group of enthusiastic followers of the game who would pool together to watch cricket matches. Both viewing and playing cricket (with taped tennis balls on a tennis court) were accompanied with much passion. It is not going to be the same not watching, sharing comments (and arguments) with them. Secondly, I have lost some passion for Indian cricket since the Sourav Ganguly episode. While I am a big fan of Dada, I did believe that he was hanging on the team by a thin thread. But the manner of his exclusion and some of the public comments by the then selection committee really put me off. Thirdly, it could party be due to the fact that a few major things are happening in my life (watch this space for an announcement soon !). Finally, I am a bit pissed because a few years ago I was actually planning to visit the Carribeans to perhaps watch some of the games, or at least soak in the atmosphere. Well, the screwed-up visa policies and antiquated immigration system of the US put an end to that idea.

Lets see, perhaps I can drum up some more excitement as the Super 8 stage begins or if there are any major upsets. Till then it will be the occasional checking of scores of on Cricinfo.

Written by BongoP'o'ndit

March 14, 2007 at 10:14 am

Posted in Cricket, Personal

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I go the other way. Totally indifferent during the past four years but this the WC! So I am back with the games streaming in and explaining fundas to the ignorant foreigners πŸ™‚ And trying to tell them that this is so much more exciting than the stupid basketball game …
    And it helps that I cheer a team that my brothers hate, so I am always for more drama on part of the Desi team.. makes my life so much more entertaining.

    Sakshi

    March 14, 2007 at 12:55 pm

  2. Sakshi:

    And trying to tell them that this is so much more exciting than the stupid basketball game …

    Have you succeeded yet ?

    Meanwhile, watching some free streaming of Aussie domination of Scotland is rekindling interests……

    BongoP'o'ndit

    March 14, 2007 at 2:58 pm

  3. “Have you succeeded yet ? ”
    In this town.. no way!!!

    So should I expect more of the WC coverage from you? And watching Aussies play is always heartening πŸ™‚

    Sakshi

    March 14, 2007 at 4:37 pm

  4. @Sakshi: Too much shit going on for regular coverage…but we’ll see – perhaps the latent fanatic will rise !

    Errr…..so you support Australia ? Should be some interesting conversations ahead πŸ™‚ Aloof or not, I am a rabid supporter of India and more so when they play Oz (probably ‘coz, it often brings out the best in both teams).

    Usually I am agnostic towards Aus – I have this complicated algorithm for supporting neutral teams – I supported them in ’87 finals (actually loved that Aussies team with Boon, Border, Greg Mathew et al more than the current one), but was against them in ’96, for again in ’99 and obviously against (to very little avail) in ’02……..
    And by this system, England is ALWAYS at the bottom of the pit.

    BongoP'o'ndit

    March 15, 2007 at 7:38 am

  5. Oh! Bring it on πŸ™‚
    I have supported Aussies since the late 80s as well. But then, it was just here say. My bro liked the team and hence so did I. But later on(since the 92 world cup), it was a well crafted decision. My support for them annoyed my brothers so much, that I have made a career out of it πŸ˜› And it also helps that they are good.
    And yes, England has to loose! EVERY time.

    Sakshi

    March 15, 2007 at 8:46 am

  6. Perhaps nine years in the Roc and a couple in NC have finally turned you into an American?

    I actually watched ~15 minutes at the end of the Ireland match yesterday, and it wasn’t totally boring. They just need to do something about the other eight hours.

    Brian

    March 16, 2007 at 12:20 pm

  7. […] 17th, 2007 by BongoP’o’ndit Notwithstanding my previously stated aloofness, the combination of a rare free weekend, availability of streaming feed and exchanging comments […]


Leave a Reply

