Recurring Decimals…..

Everything here is irrelevant

Predictions and such

with 5 comments

Peter Crouch is probably the most (unintentionally) comical player I have seen on a football field for a long time. The manner in which he missed the open goal where he tried to dive and hit a volley rather than trapping and tappin the football in (he had the time, he was wide open and even the kepper had given up) was quite priceless. Well, he redeemed himself eventually – too bad we did not get to see the ‘robot dance‘.

Also as I mentioned yesterday, Wayne Rooney did not make an individual difference on the field. However, the team itself started playing with a renewed purpose after he came in.

Yesterday’s predictions were a bit off.

For today, predictions are: Ecuador wins over Costa Rica (2-1), England wins over T & T (1-0), and Paraguay wins over Sweden (1-0). The last is a crazy prediction for an upset.

I got the first two results correct – not the scorelines. And the Sweden game was just the reverse. Let’s see what happens in the coming days. I will have to be out of town with probably no net access for the next three days. So I will bunch all the predictions together.

June 16th:

Argentina-Serbia & M. : 2-0
Netherlands-Ivory Coast: 2-1
Mexico-Angola: 1-1

June 17th:

Italy-USA: 2-0
Portugal-Iran: 2-0
Czech-Ghana: 2-1

June 18th:

Brazil-Aus: 2-1
Japan-Croatia: 1-2
France-Korea: 2-0 (I hope 🙂 )

Let’s see how many I get right this time.

Written by BongoP'o'ndit

June 16, 2006 at 7:31 am

Posted in Soccer, Sports, World Cup

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lal Salaam !

    Stalingam

    June 17, 2006 at 12:18 pm

  2. Stalingam,

    We are capitalists down here. Hate all commies. 🙂

    Confused

    June 19, 2006 at 9:59 pm

  3. Bongo,

    Now, being a nice guy I don’t want to point out where you have gone wrong.

    Just that, maybe you may not want to do predictions again. 🙂

    Confused

    June 19, 2006 at 10:01 pm

  4. @ Stalingram: red…blue whatever.

    @Confused: Rubbing it in eh ? At this rate I wont be making money in Vegas anytime soon.

    BongoP'o'ndit

    June 21, 2006 at 7:24 pm

  5. […] As a kind soul has rather helpfully pointed out, my last World Cup predictions went disastrously haywire. Besides, I missed quite a few matches in between – so I shall desist from further predictions. However, you shall not be spared of my ‘expert’ opinions about the WC going-ons in a future post. Life isn’t always that forgiving. […]

  6. […] See, what  is common between Brazil, Argentina and Germany? That they have lost at this world cup and I had wanted all of them to win! The Germany-Italy match was particularly gratifying as far as my-support-ensures-defeat theory goes. I could ‘’see no way Italy could win this one’’ while another football aficionado seconded me by calling it a ‘’no-brainer’’, a third  one who had a great tournament as far as predictions go was still drowning his sorrows in beer, when I last checked. […]


Leave a Reply

