Recurring Decimals…..

Everything here is irrelevant

Observed on a notice board (and one on the road)

with 3 comments

Musings about couple of notices observed on community boards of the building I work in – and one from on the road.

First Notice: ‘Indian Roommate Wanted: I am xxxxx and I am looking for a Indian(sic) roommate. She must be nonsmoker and teetotler….yada yada (contact info etc)

Now the non-smoking/drinking part is a life-style compatibility issue and I understand. But call me an elitist snob, I was quite peeved at the specification for an Indian. Sounds very narrow minded and parochial. Imagine the furore if someone wrote – ‘Christian roommate wanted or White American roommate wanted’ ! To be fair, it could be the person is new to the country and feels would be more comfortable with an Indian person. Also note how the gender is slipped in much more subtly.

Second Notice: this is what Tyler Cowen would classify with a ‘Markets in Everything‘ headline: ‘Idli and Dosa Dough……..freshly made for you‘.

Don’t remember the full exact wordings – but ‘hygenically prepared’ was stressed and mention was made of the delicousness of such food. Cost: $15 for 6lbs of dough. I do love a little home made idli and dosa – but I can’t figure out if this is a good deal or not. Also, making idli I guess is relatively simple – just bake it. But I thought frying a nice crispy dosa takes a little more effort. I should find out if the coconut chutney is included.

Is there a big enough market for such a venture ?

Finally: saw a car with a bumper-sticker supporting Geroge W Bush’s ’04 re-election. Not an uncommon sight in these parts of the wood – people do love to broadcast their political affiliation and there are enough Bush supporters too. The blog-worthy part – it was on a Toyota Prius – go figure !

Written by BongoP'o'ndit

June 14, 2006 at 7:48 pm

Posted in Fun, Personal, Rants

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. First notice,

    I cannot agree with you more. Thats not elitist at all, that is parochial and narrow minded and you called a spade a spade. Thats all.

    Second, Not sure. Depends on demographics to some extent.

    Confused

    June 14, 2006 at 9:35 pm

  2. Before Bong the ”grammar terrorist” kills me..

    That should have been ”could not have agreed with you more.” Had a long day.

    Cheers

    p.s I hope Patrix the other grammar terrorist wont notice. 🙂

    Confused

    June 14, 2006 at 9:37 pm

  3. @ Confused: I am pretty bad at the grammar stuff myself – so don’t worry. Re: the first notice – I have been in trouble before for similar comments so I was being careful !

    For the second: there are quite a lot of desis here (not as much as NJ/NY though) – but not that many in our department as such. I imagine this person is advertising in other places too. What I found interesting though is the idea of selling dosa/idli dough – very novel.

    BongoP'o'ndit

    June 15, 2006 at 9:06 am


Leave a Reply

