Recurring Decimals…..

Everything here is irrelevant

Stop checking your Sitemeter !

with 5 comments

Wrote this sometime late last year while I was busy writing some grants. Not sure why, but I never posted it and eventually it’s topical significance was lost. Finally posting this today after reading a somewhat related post on Nerve Endings Firing Away, which briefly talks about multitasking and writing habits. Although the specifics are no longer true, the general point is still valid.

Am in the midst of some serious writing. I am supposed to be writing a fellowship grant application that is due very soon. In the best traditions imparted to me by my undergraduate colleges, I am doing it all at the last moment. Usually, I work best under pressure, but as I realised while writing my thesis last year, the biggest speed-bump to my writing is casual surfing on the net. The constant internet connection both at the lab and home is admittedly very useful whenever I need any quick scientific information or want to check out a reference. However, it is very difficult to resist the temptation of sneaking a quick glance at the Inbox, or finding out if there are any new headlines on the RSSReader. I guess I need something like this: the Temptation Blocker.

So, have a major deadline looming or ripe opportunity closing and just don’t have time to waste playing Half Life 2 or checking Bloglines one last time? Well then, add Half Life 2 and Firefox to the list of programs you want to block in Temptation Blocker, set the timer for how long you want to block them and then hit the “Get Work Done!? button.
Now, everytime you try and access Half Life 2 or Firefox, you’ll get a dialog box telling you how much time you have left before you can access that program. During this blocked time, you can’t access those programs. You also can’t access Temptation Blocker during this time without entering in a random, 32-character string.

On a related note, take a look at this article about Tobias Wolff (from Prufock’s blog).

Wolff details a rigorous, disciplined writing routine: he locks himself in the basement of the library at Stanford University, where he teaches three classes a year, in a room with no windows, no phone, no photos on the wall. Lots of pacing. Oh, and he’s getting his Net connection switched off: The Internet, he says mock-seriously, “is the new version of a writer’s endless pencil sharpening

This is the exreme solution. I don’t think I could do it.

Written by BongoP'o'ndit

March 23, 2006 at 1:02 pm

Posted in Fun, General, Life

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. How about installing something that gives you a slight electric shock each time you check your email or go to your RSS Reader when you are writing your grant? 🙂

    Patrix

    March 23, 2006 at 1:37 pm

  2. Lol. I could not agree more. Especially the sitemeter bit..
    BTW, I liked your previous format more. This makes it a little more difficult to read.

    later

    confused

    March 24, 2006 at 2:14 am

  3. @ Patrix: Yep – maybe I could train myself to produce Pavlovian response eventually 🙂

    @ Confused: Unfortunately, since I use WP.com, there is little I can do to increase font size for a given template and I am limited by template choice. (Btw, I have not changed templates for about a month – are you takling about the template before that ?)

    BongoP'o'ndit

    March 24, 2006 at 8:48 am

  4. Not really…the other it seemed to be a 3 column template. I guess I was hallucinating as usual.

    Sorry for the confusion!

    confused

    March 24, 2006 at 11:15 am

  5. Ok, there was some problem with my computer. Now its clear enuff

    Sorry for the confusion!!

    confused

    March 24, 2006 at 9:07 pm


Leave a Reply

