Recurring Decimals…..

Everything here is irrelevant

WP frustrations &%#$

with 4 comments

I like many features of WordPress(.com), which is why I moved here from Blogger. However, I do not quite like their post-editor. It is, how should I put it, extremely temperamental. When I save drafts of my posts, it often decides to do away with paragraph breaks and other formattings. Even if I fix it in the html code, the fix mysteriously disappears when I save the draft again. Since Sunday however, there is a more serious problem – whole portions of posts are getting lost. Today I had added a substantial portion to a post on cricket – all of which disappeared when I saved it !! I guess I have to be careful and copy-paste my stuff in Words or even write the post in Words and then paste here.

But I am a lazy person, so if anyone else has had this problem and/or has solutions please let me know.

Update: WP.com’s problems aren’t going away; they are getting worse. Even when I switch off the rich-text editor, funky things are happening. Here is the latest issue: after I write (actually paste from Notepad as suggested by Patrix) a post and click ‘Save and Continue’, I see the changes in the preview screen, but the text in the ‘Write Post‘ reverts to the pre-edited version ! A quick browse through the WP.com support forum indicates other people having similar problems. I guess I need to be a little patient.

Written by BongoP'o'ndit

March 15, 2006 at 5:30 pm

Posted in Blog, Rants

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. WordPress.com has WYSIWYG interface built in and hence copy-paste from Word will carry over the formatting too. Write your posts in Notepad or at least transfer them to Notepad before you cut-paste them into the “Write Post” space. And then make changes in formatting. I don’t use WP.com but I see that a similar interface for WP installed on my space and have had no problems so far.

    Patrix

    March 15, 2006 at 7:18 pm

  2. @ Patrix:

    Thanks for the information. Actually when I copy-paste from Word,it is usually okay – formatting gets lost when I actually type in the “write post” space. I will try the Notepad idea from now on. At least I won’t lose out chunks of my writing that way!

    BongoP'o'ndit

    March 15, 2006 at 7:51 pm

  3. sorry about your frustration.

    Marsha

    March 16, 2006 at 7:40 pm

  4. Tag Tag. You have been tagged “10 or more reasons why mithunda is being nominated for 2007’s “Lifetime Achievement Oscar”. Please refer to http://me-jhantu-nahi-hoo.blogspot.com/2006/03/mithunda-commands-and-tags-me.html

    me-jhantu

    March 31, 2006 at 5:43 pm


Leave a Reply

