Recurring Decimals…..

Everything here is irrelevant

Shhh……

with 9 comments

My life, as the saying goes, is an open bookblog – albeit a rather mundane one. So when I was tagged by Patrix to reveal five secrets, I rued that I wasn’t moonlighting as a secret agent involved in exotic adventures or wasn’t even an heir to a large fortune living incognito as a post-doc. Then I thought about doing a comic turn by posting something on the lines of  "Boost is the secret…." …but…as you can plainly see, comic creativity has never been a strong suite.

Therefore, here are some plain-jane, possibly true secrets about me. 

1. I am a sucker for romantic comedy films. There – I said it !! However, it can’t be just any run of the mill, mushiness-drenched hash. It has to be funny above all else and eventually, a bit irrverent. Some intelligent dialogues would help too e.g. Woody Allen movies like Annie Hall or Everyone Says that I love You. Flicks on the lines of Love Actually, Green Card and of course, When Harry Met Sally etc I enjoy as well (no-nos are films like Serendipity or The Wedding Planner). Although not exactly comedies, my favorite romantic films are Before Sunrise and Before Sunset.

2. While on the subject of cinema, my favorite actress of all time is Audrey Hepburn. The favorite among the current crop are Julia Roberts and …..errr……Cameron Diaz. And before anyone starts questioning me about the latter choice, I’d suggest they watch Being John Malkovich first.

(also before anyone asks: although not that funny and quite mushy, I completely dug My Best Friend’s Wedding)

3. My secret ambition is to be a bartender someday. Actually – I would like to own a bar, preferably on or near the beach

4. My other ambition is to write a novel, while living in a small bungalow in some Himalayan hill-station no less (inspired by Ruskin Bond, perhaps). Sadly, this one is positively doomed to failure for various reasons – chief being I can’t really write.

5. My hand to eye coordination and reflexes are piss poor – I cannot play computer games (other than racing ones) or cricket very well.

Anyone reading this, considered yourself tagged.

Written by BongoP'o'ndit

February 7, 2007 at 10:49 am

Posted in Personal, Trivia

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is preposterous! How can you tag innocent victims who amble across to gain some knowledge.

    Anyway, will put up my list soon enough.

    Confused

    February 7, 2007 at 11:01 am

  2. Wow! Those are quite some secrets. Err…ditto for me on the first one :) Loved the …Sunset movies.

    And you gotta name your tagged victims. Consider yourself tagged kills the joy.

    Patrix

    February 7, 2007 at 11:37 am

  3. […] the tag along to Ash, Confused, Bongo (his secrets), Neha (her secrets), and Sampada (her secrets). Drop me a line (a link in the comments will do […]

  4. It is so hard to do romantic films right. Before Sunrise and Before Sunset are brilliant and beautiful. Linklater being about ten years older than the protagonists brings just the right amount of objectivity and memory into the relationships while the actors are almost living the script. I hope there is a third installment in 2015.

    If you are not averse to subtitles, I will strongly recommend Eric Rohmer.

    dipanjan

    February 9, 2007 at 4:29 pm

  5. Hey when you own that bungalow in the Himalayas, rent me two rooms and the kitchen please.
    But then you want to stay up in the hills and go to work at the “beach”, a long commute I tell you :)

    sandeepa

    February 12, 2007 at 2:58 pm

  6. For the first time I have found someone who’s favourite movies are Before sunset and before sunrise. I am totally nuts about them…watched them 100 times over. BTW you must have watched Love actually…another romantic favourite of mine :)

    Sharique

    February 13, 2007 at 12:25 pm

  7. Umm.. could you please disable the snap preview? Reasons for this request have been well document by someone else here. Thanks!

    Vivek Kumar

    February 17, 2007 at 4:06 pm

  8. @Confused/Patrix: Truth be told – my limited online clique has mostly been tagged – hence the open thingie.

    @Dipanjan/Sandeepa/Sahrique/Vivek: You guys know you are automatically tagged, dont you ? :-)

    @Dipanjan: I have seen “Pauline at the Beach” – others are in the queue.
    Btw, your comment on actors living the script on Before Sunset – Hawke and Delpy apparently improvised much of the dialogs.

    @sandeepa: sure – why not ! Like I said, the bartending thing is more likely than the writing.

    @Sharique: Yeah – I liked Love Actually too – though a bit mushy at times …..

    @Vivek: good point ! Snap preview disabled.

    BongoP'o'ndit

    February 18, 2007 at 12:20 pm

  9. @B’P: Thanks for disabling snap :) Will think about the tag ;-)

    Vivek Kumar

    February 18, 2007 at 6:22 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

